Capsule movie review: Talvar (2015)

talvar-irrfan-khan-759

Just watched Talvar. I can’t think of a finer investigation thriller that was made in India in recent memory. Not a single dull moment in the entire film. Vishal Bharadwaj’s screenplay hooked me right from the very beginning and gave me an almost tangible sense of the proceedings. Irrfan Khan is fabulous as always. It’s his scenes that stand out the most. I liked the film’s ambiguity, the frustration, the rage, the playfulness and how the arguments from both sides were presented. I loved the sense of humor, especially in the ending where the two opposing teams are sitting across each other arguing their points and Irrfan being repeatedly sarcastic (“Asleel Sahitya” and “Dharam Pracharak Aasan”) despite the serious nature of the case. At the moment, I am not interested in discussing about which of the two theories I support. That’s why I decided not to write a detailed review of this film on here. I am not in the mood to get into a heated debate right now. So, all I am going to say is that, from a purely filmmaking standpoint, it scores on all levels and almost comes close to becoming India’s answer to 12 Angry Men. If there’s one weak scene in the film, it’s when Irrfan goes to Tabu’s house after he’s been suspended and says, “I can’t go back to it anymore”. That scene didn’t quite work for me.  My rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

